The fastest way to contact me: 310-820-1315

Contact

Can You Take DUI Classes Online in California?

Can You Take DUI Classes Online in California?Can you take a DUI alcohol program online in California? The short answer is “no”. The state of California does not recognize any online DUI programs, and the DMV will not reinstate your driver’s license if you do not complete the required coursework from an officially licensed California DUI program.

As you’re doing your research, you’ll likely find many online DUI classes that claim to be accredited, credentialed, and licensed. You can certainly take these classes, as they may provide insight and help you better understand how you ended up in the situation you’re in, but it’s important to understand that these classes would be self-serving. In other words, neither the court (unless expressly approved for out of state resident) nor DMV will give credence to any online coursework you’ve completed.

What Are the Course Requirements for a DUI in California?

If you’re a first-time offender, meaning you haven’t been convicted for a DUI in the past ten years, you’ll need to take three months of alcohol and drug education, totaling 30 hours plus 6 hours of AA meetings. In the event your blood alcohol content (BAC) measured between 0.15 and 0.19, you may be required to complete a six-month DUI education program. If you refused to take a breath or blood test, or if your BAC was over 0.20, you may be facing a nine-month program.

If this was your second offense, you should expect to be required to complete an 18-month drug and alcohol course. A wet reckless offense typically requires 12 hours of educational courses.

How Are the Courts and DMV Notified when You’ve Completed Your Program?

You’ll notice many online courses indicate that they will not notify the DMV or courts that you’ve completed your program. This is because they’re not recognized as legitimate sources of education by many states, including California. When you enroll in a certified program, the organization will notify the court and DMV upon your enrollment and completion of the program. You’ll also receive receipts and records that you can keep for yourself.

All DUI classes must be held in-person in California, and there are no permissible outlets for online courses. There are multiple organizations offering any number of classes on various days of the week and hours of the day. Class times are designed to fit around busy people’s schedules, so you should be able to find something that accommodates your needs.

If you’re unsure about ways you should fulfill your DUI requirements, it’s best to speak with a California DUI attorney who understands the laws and can help you navigate the specifics related to your case. The internet is full of false information, and you may find yourself adhering to false information if you’re not guided by someone who is trained in California DUI laws.

The fastest way to contact me: 310-820-1315

Summary
Can You Take DUI Classes Online in California?
Article Name
Can You Take DUI Classes Online in California?
Description
The short answer is no. The state of California does not recognize any online DUI programs, unless expressly approved for out-of-state residents.
Author
Publisher Name
Jon Bryant Artz
Publisher Logo

Comments are closed.